Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Crossing the Beginner to Intermediate divide

Crossing the Beginner to Intermediate divide

Hi all,

I won't be surprised if this has been asked before so apologies if it has, but here goes...

I've been dancing for about 4 months now and made the switch to the intermediate class about 5 weeks ago. Now the way the beginners moves are taught (beginners class at 8, short freestyle and then off with the taxi dancers to go through the moves again) seems to work well with me - doing lots and often drums it in and things started to come more naturally and I could concentrate on doing stuff like actually moving to the beat! Now I am far more confident, and I can dance freestyle (ie not just doing the 4 beginners moves in a constant cycle) and I try to vary my moves and put most of the beginners ones into a rountine (so long as I don't get stuck in a first move into a first move etc which seems to be the bane of me if I'm not concentrating ).

I really struggled with the inters class to begin with - the fact that moves don't get repeated week-on-week, no extra class with taxi dancers as the beginners have, compounded with the fact that the moves themselves are obviously a lot harder makes it a lot tougher. Recently (say the last 2 weeks) I have found the inter moves a little easier, so I think just learning any inter move can help you pick up another inter move more quickly (I try to break it down into bits of beginners moves I know - so this is a bit like a basket etc but with a blah blah) if you see what I mean. After the inter class has finished I'll usually take one of my regular partners and we'll go through the moves until I know what I'm doing, but rather like when I was a beginner, I will be concentrating on doing the moves rather than listening to the music and therefore actually dancing