Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Relaxing while dancing

Relaxing while dancing

Please feel free to point me to an appropriate old thread if, as usual, this has been covered before…

Girls, how do you relax while dancing with a new and vastly more experienced partner? I find I can get lead through all sorts of moves I don’t know by someone I’m used to dancing with, but when I dance for the first time (and often second and third times, if I’m asked again ) with someone who is obviously very good, confident and tries to put me into moves I’ve never done before, it makes me very anxious and puts me off my stride. I mess up and feel an idiot, knowing I can do better.

I assume that it has something to do with trust – and from things I’ve read on this forum, particularly from a safety point of view, maybe I’m right not to trust too soon – or am I?

Any advice/tips would be appreciated, from the girls or the guys.

Re: Relaxing while dancing

In answer to your question IMHO it is all in the lead, if your partner doesn't do a great deal of different moves but is more into music interpretation it is easier to 'switch-off' listen to the music and just let this wonderful person lead you around the floor

It also helps if :-
    1) you have confidence in your own ability (dancing with said partner)
    2) you have confidence in the lead
    3) happy with the speed on the track
    4) and how you feel at the time

(try dancing with DavidB )

--ooOoo--
    Age is a question of mind over matter, if you don't mind, it doesn't matter
    Leroy (Satchel) Paige (1906-1982)

Mickey Mouse's girlfriend, Minnie, made her film debut, along with Mickey, in "Steamboat Willie" on November 18, 1928.
    That date is recognized as her official birthday.

Quote Originally Posted by Twirly