Thread: The road to Tango...

Formerly known as DavidJames David Bailey's Avatar
    Blog Entries

The road to Tango...

Yes, it's a shameless rip-off of ("homage to") "The road to Ceroc" - how and why did you first start to learn Tango?

I was first inspired by watching a move last summer in a Ceroc class, which involved back ochos and sweeps, all led from a Ceroc First Move. It got me thinking about AT - I can probably dig up the posts I made at the time.

But really, the inspiration was when Mr Long told me about a local class, and I signed up with him, starting about October last year.

Next?

Re: The road to Tango...

April 2002. Having become a total dance junkie I was trying Lindy and Salsa but neither really struck a chord with me. I saw an advert for a series of 3 AT workshops for complete beginners and went along to see what it was about. My mental image was of folk with roses in their teeth - like that dance in "Zorro".

Fernando and Ruth were teaching and got us just walking round the room. As we walked they introduced different elements to change a "normal walk" into a "Tango walk". I remember doing my best - kissing feet, torso leading, standing up straight etc. etc. - when I noticed Fernando walking alongside me. For some reason I instantly realised that this was a dance I had to learn. It's been brilliant ever since.

In Jan '05 I started ballroom lessons and my teacher, Kelly, also teaches AT and organises Tango Al Fresco in Regents Park. I've had a gentle introduction into it with the odd half hour of tuition here and there.

Lory joined me for tuition from Aug '05 and since Jan'06 we've been hooked and have made AT part of our lesson format every week.

I actually started dancing as a result of a accident when I cut one of my thumbs off with a hand saw in 2002. This meant my sporting days were over so I turned to dancing for a form of excercise. Wish I'd found it years ago.