Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: using the breaks

Question using the breaks

All the experienced dancers talk about using the breaks in music. As a relative beginner I'm OK with executing the move, even keeping with the beat and rhythm of the music. I'm less sure about all this break stuff. Can anyone explain this to me in very easy laymans terms. Also easy examples of how the less experienced dancer can use a musical break. Using the breaks has never been demonstrated in any of the classes I've attended Can anyone help the uninitiated 'break dancer'?

Re: using the breaks

Quote Originally Posted by Damien
    Can anyone help the uninitiated 'break dancer'?

A "Break" is normally where the base or drum stop for a beat or two. Since this forms your 'counts' in a move, the easiest way to interprate them is stop your count within that move, or extend it untill the beat picks up again.

"Hitting a break" is where a dancer predicts where this break will be in the music and is in a nice place to pose or go into a flash move to highlight it.
    There are musical theorys about counts and beats and bars and repeating patterns and how to predict when one will arrive within a song, but I've found it easier to just listen lots or become familure with where they are in a "classic" song that your DJ plays semi-regularly.

Strictly speaking, a 'break' can be a break in vocals, in drums, in bass, in melody, or any of the layers that make up a track: they are musical highlights (or "lowlights") that are relativly easy to make the most of within a dance.

How to use them? Standard ways are to freeze or dip. But anything goes.

Donna

Quote Originally Posted by Gadget

A "Break" is normally where the base or drum stop for a beat or two. Since this forms your 'counts' in a move, the easiest way to interprate them is stop your count within that move, or extend it untill the beat picks up again.