Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Definition of Swing Music

Blog Entries

The Definition of Swing Music

So, how do you define swing music? Can if be defined? Or should it be defined?

In it's widest description (often used by DJs and event organisers) it can include:
    • 1910-20s Foxtrot
    • 20s-30s Swing
    • 20s-30s Charleston
    • 40s R&B
    • 50s R&R
    • Brat Pack Swing
    • Modern Neo/Electro Swing

So for starters, that raises the question; How do you make it clear that you're referring to 1920s-30s Swing music? Do I have to say 20s - 30s Swing just to make sure there's no confusion?

In my opinion, Swing isn't just a name for a variety of music, it also describes what that music does and IMO a lot of the above does not swing.

So how to describe what I think of as swing? Well, I'm no musician so it's not easy. For me it's not as simple as the music fitting the 8 bar structure (apologies if that's the wrong terminology). Swing music has a swingy feeling which I can't describe. It makes me want to Lindy Hop, whereas other 'swing' music that doesn't have that feeling doesn't make me want to dance.
    Maybe there's a musician out there that knows what I'm talking about?

Re: The Definition of Swing Music

I'm not a musician but...

This is Wikipedia describing what it is that makes music fit my personal definition of swing: "In music, a swung note or shuffle note is a performance practice, mainly in jazz-influenced music, in which some notes with equal written time values are performed with unequal durations, usually as alternating long and short." (from here)

My LH teacher said that the triple step is best done to a swung note - the slow step done to a slightly longer beat and the two quick steps done (both) to a quicker beat.