Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Children at Adult Dance Lessons

Commercial Operator

Children at Adult Dance Lessons

Quote Originally Posted by fletch View Post
    I havnt had a problem for a long time maybe people dont see Joe as a child?

It dose seem to me that some of the people that have had issues with children in the dance world are the ones that dont want there children been allowed into it, it could be that it world be hard work (children are) or it would make there secret dance life to visable
    As a dance teacher I do have a problem with children mixing with adults in partner dance lessons.

The problem is that adults can get their hands on children. And that has the potential to attract the wrong kind of adults. I took advice before setting the age limit for my lessons. The advice was that adults who want to get their hands on children have no interest once those children get to 14.

Sometimes I do get parents asking if their can bring their 12 year old. I say they can come in for free but they must only do the lessons with their parents or people approved by the parents - they must not join in the general lesson. I make sure the parents know it's their responsibility to keep an eye on their child, not mine.

Even when children get to 14 you do still need to be watchful. Some girls of 14 look stunning and are fully developed women. Grown men with a healthy interest in women might make a pass. That's a very different situation from attracting the kind of person who is interested in children. But it is the same criminal offence!

Blog Entries

Re: Fair rate for Private Lessons

Quote Originally Posted by fletch View Post
    I havnt had a problem for a long time maybe people dont see Joe as a child?