Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Demo-ing

Demo-ing

OK..So this may or may not go down like a lead balloon .. but it has been niggling me for a while now.. so here goes....

I have been dancing for 5 years now and have enjoyed 99% of my time dancing. I have been lucky enough to have been asked to taxi at both my local venues and also for Ceroc and have occasionally demo'd. I still currently demo at my local venue. However.. I am interested in the forumites ideas on what you think makes a good demo..

The reason I ask is that I have (more than once and by more than one MJ company) been passed over and immediately disregarded as "potential demo material" ... I know my dancing isn't amazing by any means but I do believe I am a good dancer and would be okay to demo (where I demo now the teachers don't have any complaints and I am regularly asked back to demo for them).

Just wondering about your thoughts on demo-ing and demonstrators in general and what you think makes "good potential demo material"

Thank you all...

xx

Dickie Davies' love-child Cruella's Avatar

Re: Demo-ing

Quote Originally Posted by Caz View Post
    The reason I ask is that I have (more than once and by more than one MJ company) been passed over and immediately disregarded as "potential demo material" :
    xx
    What do you mean passed over? Do you have to apply to HQ to demo nowadays? When I used to demo for Paul Harris it was purely cos he asked me to, there was no 'applying' to any management etc.
    In my case, being a good demo was not walking off stage when he 'let one go' which was quite often! :lol

When I first started Ceroc there weren't many teachers, ergo not many demos. But as punters improved teachers would regularly pick demos from the class.

Everyone enjoyed this I think and it emphasised the fact that anyone can do it with the right lead.