Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it me...

Is it me...

...or is West Coast Swing looking more and more like West Coast Jive on the social dance floor..?

I'm a WCS noob granted but sometimes I can distinguish what a couple is trying to dance in freestyle sometimes. I saw a fair bit of it at Daventry. Leader stepping forward to meet the follower on count 1 yet the whole thing being littered with sugar pushes, with the slot random changing directions...

Is there a new dance called West Coast Jive that I haven't been told about or am I just being a noob?

Re: Is it me...

I think (being fairly new to WCS myself too) that because a lot of jivers see more WCS on the dance floor, plus there now being lots of slotted jive classes (many of which are taught by jive teachers who also do WCS), it's fairly logical that people will start combining parts from the two dances.

I dance with quite a few guys who've done some Simon & Nicole classes, who have what I would class as sugar pushes, tucks turns, L or R side passes in WCS, but they've never actually done a WCS class in their life.

So I'd say it's more that Jive is looking more like WCS than WCS looking like jive.

Quote Originally Posted by emmylou25 View Post
    .........So I'd say it's more that Jive is looking more like WCS than WCS looking like jive.
    Except that the timing is different

--ooOoo--
    Age is a question of mind over matter, if you don't mind, it doesn't matter
    Leroy (Satchel) Paige (1906-1982)

Mickey Mouse's girlfriend, Minnie, made her film debut, along with Mickey, in "Steamboat Willie" on November 18, 1928.
    That date is recognized as her official birthday.

Forum Bombshell - Our Queen! Lory's Avatar
    Blog Entries

So I'd say it's more that Jive is looking more like WCS than WCS looking like jive.
    That's the beauty of MJ, it can morph to incorporate many styles
    MODERATOR AT YOUR SERVICE