Thread: Mobile phone insurance

Mobile phone insurance

I finally joined the 21st century and got a new phone yesterday. I declined Vodafone's insurance offer as £12.99 per month seemed pretty damn exorbitant to me.

I need to check my contents insurance but am pretty sure mob phone not covered there so wondered if anyone knew and could recommend a source of insurance against theft and possibly accidental damage for a mobile?

Re: Mobile phone insurance

If you bank with first direct

first directory

Yeah, quite a few banks offer mobile insurance

Home insurance is a common route for mobiles. You generally get what you pay for so read the policy carefully - ie, does it cover theft, accidently loss, accidently damage, etc, - also does it cover theft from both the inside and outside of your home.
    Check your excess also.

You could have a look at http://www.protectyourbubble.com./ but i've no experience with them

When I purchased my phone from Phones4U they advised me to take out their insurance (which at the time was pretty expensive) as you automatically get a 7 or 14 day cooling off period. The sales assistant obviously gets some sort of bonus. They told me to phone up and cancel when I got home as they would offer to reduce the cost. You then phone up to cancel the policy and as if by magic they slash the premium by about 50%.

I did this and was surprised by the degree of flexibility in their prices.

I would definitely check accidental damage is included though.

I presume a lot of companies work in a similar way.

Quote Originally Posted by Dottie View Post