Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Teaching in Schools

Commercial Operator

Teaching in Schools

I've been teaching on schools for a few years now. It's always difficult to show pictures of youself teaching young children. However a school have put up a movie of me and Sue teaching their year 7 students.

Here is the link to the school website.

I'd modified the way I count them in to suit a one-off lesson to a younger audience. Otherwise it's pretty much the same as our usual lessons ...

.. apart from them getting everything at lightning speed compared to us grown ups!

I've really found that these young children get a huge amount from the lessons. Those children who don't usually do or hate games can join in. Children of differing abilities seem to get the lessons, even those with physical or mental disabilities - I once I even had to wear a device around my neck that communicated with a deaf child in the class. The other thing that happens is that girls and boys seem to be getting on better by the end of the session.

Commercial Operator

Re: Teaching in Schools

Quote Originally Posted by Andy McGregor View Post
    I've been teaching on schools for a few years now. It's always difficult to show pictures of youself teaching young children. However a school have put up a movie of me and Sue teaching their year 7 students.

Here is the link to the school website.

I'd modified the way I count them in to suit a one-off lesson to a younger audience. Otherwise it's pretty much the same as our usual lessons ...

.. apart from them getting everything at lightning speed compared to us grown ups!