Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete Novice.

Complete Novice.

Folks....

Three weeks ago I simply could not dance at all..and I mean couldnt.
    I have now been to 5 classes, all in Edinburgh with one being at St Stephen Street which was fab and very busy.
    Have to say that I am nowhere near being a decent dancer but I now have no problems getting girls up on the floor. Have probably learned about 15 moves, practising them is fine, but when it comes to..every man/woman for themselves i.e freestyle the odd mind block sets in. I get to a position where I am thinking..ok..where are you going now....and boom..it all falls apart..
    The girls I dance with are great though..ever helpful and it looks as though they arent bothered that you forget.
    So..just as a rule....at what point will it all come together time wise? If I had to say what my biggest problem so far is..its getting caught with the wrong hand for what I want to do next..so its into the comb to free everything up...
    Not looking to be Fred Astaire here..just to be able one day to be a good dancer...
    Bit like Strictly for me this...stop playing football on a Thursday..start ceroc....

Graham

Re: Complete Novice.

Welcome to the forum and welcome to the world of MJ
    don't worry about mind blocks, it happens to every one
    just do a very simple move, eg change places
    It is more difficult for leaders, as we have to think a bit in advance, but don't worry, keep dancing and it will all fall into place

Graham great to hear that you enjoying dancing so far, welcome to the never ending journey

As to when it will come together, in my experience of teaching beginners it’s around the 6/8 week mark (although it is different for everyone) that leads start to find they are having to think a little less about the immediate move, able to think a little further ahead in the dance and are better able to cope when they end up where they don’t expect to