Thread: Big Jugs

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Ceroc DJ

Big Jugs

We have an event coming up where we have hired the kitchen so that we can serve free squash. Being a complete novice in the juicing game, I have a few questions I'm sure you can help me with.

1. How many jugs would we need say for every hundred people? So far we only have two mid sized containers between us. We need more but our local shops had nothing in stock. I did a search for big jugs on the internet and am slowly working my way through the suggestions but so far I have found nothing to satisfy our needs. Any suggestions?

2. Flavour? Typically I'm thinking orange but my own preference is blackcurrant. What's your flavour? Is there a big difference between the cheap and expensive?

3. Ice? I have looked into getting an ice maker but feel it could be false economics. If you happen to own one, do you use it regularly? The alternative is to buy bags from the supermarket but it's not as much fun. I like my toys.

4. Big jugs means big cups. Can anyone recommend a cheap place to get hold of disposable plastic pint tumblers?

5. At our last ball we went overboard on chocolate but feel this wasn't to everyone's taste. Do you prefer sweets or fruit?

Thank you in advance for your input.

Re: Big Jugs

Q.5 - For me fruit is a winner, it less messy than chocolate and more refreshing. Grapes are good, ideally chopped into small handy sized bunches. Chunks of melon or pineapple on sticks also good, perhaps with chunks of cheese. Maybe even a few Strawberries. Something savoury is also good. Chocolate tends to melt in the heat and therefore is possibly best avoided unless there is a fridge you can keep it in until the last minute. Small bite sized cake type things are a viable alternative for the fruit haters - something you can just pop into your mouth in one go such as mini flap-jacks and the like of the sort sold in tubs in supermarkets.