Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: In the 21st Century how important is it to learn to drive?

In the 21st Century how important is it to learn to drive?

I was a reluctant driver but my father insisted and I passed my test at the second attempt (after a small glass of something I was one of the most relaxed at the driving test centre!). I am now really grateful to my father, although I still dislike driving, because otherwise I couldn't easily live where I do or have the job that I do.

I know of one or two non-drivers who manage their lives but spend long periods traveling by public transport. At least there are no car maintenance costs or constant filling up with petrol but there are also some restrictions and a lot of heavy things to lug around. However, they are relatively green in this area I suppose and I know I make a lot of wasteful journeys to save time.

I wonder what you think?

Re: In the 21st Century how important is it to learn to drive?

I wasn't that fussed about learning to drive at 17 like all my friends, but after uni wanted to pass to help with jobs etc. And now I wouldn't be able to live without one - or I would, but I wouldn't have the life I have.

I commute 44 miles to work each way (having moved jobs to avoid the 140mile round trip in my previous job) - I could take the train as work is near the station that is on my town's line. However at peak rate it would cost me approx double what my car costs me each day, plus I'd have to pay for parking at the station. I would also be restricted at what time I could get into work/leave, plus as I go straight from work to dancing 3 times a week, the train journey wouldn't be feasible. My work also involves visiting customers - one is in London, so I always go by train for that, but the other is in Bradford - a nightmare to get to by train (although we do tend to car share where possible if there's a few of us travelling up).