Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are you ready for retirement.?

Blog Entries

Are you ready for retirement.?

I pay a pension, its not much approximately £160 a month which i have been paying since 1988.

Its not going to leave me much between now and when im 65.

I worry a lot about old age and where i will be financially.

What can we do to ensure that we are financially secure at 65.?

Re: Are you ready for retirement.?

Quote Originally Posted by Trouble View Post
    I pay a pension, its not much approximately £160 a month which i have been paying since 1988.

This is very pertinent to me at the moment as I am planning my escape route for the future. The government keep changing the goal posts and the ages of retirement keep changing depending on your age before a certain date.
    One of the ways to start is to ask your pension provider to give you a forecast of what you would be likely to receive at the age which you will entitled to retire and then also one of the age you would like to retire ideally, but be realistic. You can ask the State Pensions Scheme to provide you with a forecast also. When you have these you can then look to other ways to top up what you paying to get what you might like to get for example buy extra years if your private or employer pension offers this scheme, AVCs or buy additional amounts, that is if you pay for example [only a hyperthetical one] £50 each month now you may be able to get extra pension each month when you retire. It is very expensive. You can go to see a financial advisor and one that is an expert in pensions who should be able to advise on how to make investments, but there is a charge. Make sure you are not paying married women's contributions towards your state pension also and that your contributions are up to date.
    if you love the life you live then you'll get a lot more done