Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Confidence issues in the Blues Room

Confidence issues in the Blues Room

I wonder if any other women feel like me in the Blues room? I find it relatively easy to get dances without really trying in the main room and I don't mind asking too much. However, in Blues rooms and at Breeze in particular I feel a bit at a loss and like a beginner again even though I have been dancing for about 3 years and have spent a lot of time trying to dance in Blues rooms as it is generally the music I prefer. Obviously the standard of dancing is very high there and the ladies particularly lovely but I am not sure why I find it even more intimidating than the Blues area at Southport? The size of the room is an issue for me as by the time you spot a spare man across the room he is generally taken before you can get there. There also seem to be far fewer men than women and it seems to me to be awkward to stand at the edge of the dance floor looking ready for a dance. How do other women work this room?

Also are there any confidence boosting tips? If I drink more than one glass of wine my balance goes off ,!

Blog Entries

Re: Confidence issues in the Blues Room

Quote Originally Posted by Easily Led View Post
    Obviously the standard of dancing is very high there and the ladies particularly lovely ? There also seem to be far fewer men than women and it seems to me to be awkward to stand at the edge of the dance floor looking ready for a dance. How do other women work this room?

Also are there any confidence boosting tips? If I drink more than one glass of wine my balance goes off ,!

LOL Oh EL... you are not alone in this thinking. When i first went to Camba with my sister, i was very inexperienced with musicality and blues as they call it but we didn't even realise it was a blues room, infact we just headed on straight in there and danced to the great music regardless. We found out afterwards it was a blues room and thought.. wots the big deal...