Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working with the French...

Blog Entries

Working with the French...

As some of you know, I'm a freelance Business Analyst - which means that I'll take fixed length contracts with large companies (usually between 3 months and a year) to help them out on a particular project. I really enjoy it, as I've had some varied and very interesting work.

Sadly, the credit crunch has meant that these contracts are rarer. However, there are still plenty of permanent jobs, and an agency has persuaded me to interview for one of these tomorrow.

I'm doing my homework, and I've discovered that the company is French. I've plenty of experience of working in mixed nationality teams, but I've never worked for a French company before. I'm well qualified for the role, and I've done a very similar job for their UK equivalent in my past. If this job were a contract, I'd go full out to try and get it.

But it's a big commitment to go back to working as a "permie". My main worry is about the company culture. It's in a very male dominated, very macho, business sector anyway, so (from experience) it's going to be quite an aggressive culture - but when I read these excerpts on a BBC website about working in France I'm wondering what I'll be letting myself in for :

In Britain we tend to share power more than in France, in that groups will share power and responsibility. This is why we have more meetings, why we are good team players, why bosses try not to be too far distanced from their employees. In France power is given to the individual who has the most competence, very often the best education and training and also experience. And it's that person's responsibility to take the full accountability and to take the decisions. So they don't cultivate teams.