Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dancing with a total beginner on their first night

Forum Bombshell - Our Queen! Lory's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Dancing with a total beginner on their first night

For three weeks on the trot, I've been faced with a situation which is usually fairly 'rare' for me.... (its like waiting for a bus, you wait for ages and then three come along all together)

......... So, I walk up to a guy, ask for a dance and they come out with "Its my first week"

So, I smile sweetly and say, 'it doesn't matter' just do what you can!
    Can you remember any of what you learnt in the lesson?

Each time they've basically answered the same, "I can remember 'some' of it."

So, I've let them (in their own time) lead whatever they can. Which in the case of last night, was a first move, return and a hand jive.

Now, I know its totally wrong but after he'd led it for about the 20th time, I started to sense 'the 'guy' was getting more and more embarrassed and quite frankly, 'I' was bored I could see he had quite a bit of natural rhythmn and had probably danced with girls in clubs before but obviously, with no 'official' moves

So, I did the 10th deadly sin AND backled him like crazy!

And guess what... we had a fab dance and he blooming well, loved it!

So go on....

Tell me...

What 'should' I have done????
    MODERATOR AT YOUR SERVICE
    "If you're going to do something tonight, that you know you'll be sorry for in the morning, plan a lie in." Lorraine

Blog Entries

Re: Dancing with a total beginner on their first night

you should have done exactly what you did to show him what it should be like and not let him carry on being bored as you both clearly were.

I do the same every single time.

I let them do their moves for a bit then i take over a little.

They love it.

Only problem is, they come back for more.

Quote Originally Posted by Trouble View Post