Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DO IT projects ever work?

DO IT projects ever work?

Was watching the Gerry Robinson & NHS programme last night, one year on from his initial visit. At one point he made a very telling comment. He referred to the NHS IT programme … its swallowed about £12 BILLION, enough for thousands of nurses for 10 years …and has delivered NOTHING, nadda, zilch … yet no one seems to have been hung, drawn and quartered over it. Anybody want to justify the wages of the hordes of IT against the wages of your average nurse?

Isn’t that a damming indictment of the IT profession. If you consider all the work over the last 30 years in terms of Prince 2 qualification, ISEB training, code generation software etc etc etc … yet I’ve yet to hear of a successful major IT project … well at least one that the end users consider to be successful. I’ve been working in/alongside IT for the last 15 years and have only see two minor IT projects meet original expectations.

So … given the hordes of IT professionals who inhabit this Forum …. Anyone want to refute my scurrilous allegation?

Re: DO IT projects ever work?

As someone who worked in not one but two areas for the NHS IT national project (NE Cluster) I guess I could have a little input.

Pile of rubbish.

As usual with any large scale IT project it was a case of Chinese Whisper syndrome through middle and top-end management along with plain and simple gross incompetence.