Thread: Muscle memory, friend or foe?

Muscle memory, friend or foe?

I find that muscle memory is a handicap in class. I am not convinced that conquering it is a good thing. I believe I should be able to dance without thinking too much about the details.

Is "muscle memory" is a good thing?
    Could attending yet more classes with different variations be damaging my dance?

I regularly join in the beginners class, and regularly find that I am not very good at it. Once the music starts part of my brain goes to sleep or drifts off to other concerns. The teacher says "catch right" but auto-pilot/ muscle memory switches in. I always use that move to change hands in freestyle, and I always catch left, and, too often, I find myself doing it wrong in class.
    I tried to do a simple Marc Foster intermediate class, which completely lacked "returns". No chance, during the lesson. Immediately after I was able to do the whole routine with returns with no problem whatsoever. That was one of the rare ocassions where I went through the class routine repeatedly during freestyle, and eventually managed to do it and make it look something like dancing.

Re: Muscle memory, friend or foe?

Quote Originally Posted by bigdjiver View Post
    I find that muscle memory is a handicap in class. I am not convinced that conquering it is a good thing. I believe I should be able to dance without thinking too much about the details.

depends what you want your muscles to remember?

I see ceroc/modern jive as an inprovisational dance. So I don't bother with moves as such. But I do my best to learn the moves that I'm taught; I try to learn both the steps (for both partners) and the leads to make those steps.

Learning moves gives me muscle memory that X position (which may be in the middle of a "move") leads to Y position, so in my improvisational dance if I suddenly find myself in X position, I have somewhere to go by default.

Forum Bombshell - Our Queen! Lory's Avatar
    Blog Entries