Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Divi Runs the London Marathon

Blog Entries

Divi Runs the London Marathon

As some of you will already know, in just over a week's time - on Sunday 22 April - I will be running the London Marathon

I have been in training since before Christmas and - unbelieveably for someone who had not run at all since school (except, occasionally, for a bus) - by the time I turn up on Blackheath for the start, I will have run over 350 miles in training for the event, including races of 6 miles (in January), 13 miles (in February) and 20 miles (in March). When I started training, I wasn't sure that I could really do it and it has been a revelation to me how much I had set boundaries for myself which (with a lot of sweat and determination) I have overcome.

Although I was lucky and got a place in the ballot, I have been raising money for the Stroke Association which, amongst its other work, funds research into prevention, treatment and better methods of rehabilitation, and helps stroke patients and their families directly through its community services. I chose to run for Stroke because my Gran died following a massive stroke, and because my Mum now volunteers at one of the weekly support groups run by Stroke at which members meet to have fun and regain social skills.

I wanted to support this charity because I believe it does a lot of good work. I have raised just under £700 so far via my page on the Just Giving website . Please sponsor me, if you would like to - my page is here.

I have been extremely grateful for and moved by all the support and encouragement I have received from so many of my friends from the dance world - thank you all

And finally, if anyone is going to the marathon as a spectator - please keep an eye open for me and give me a cheer as I plod past I'm not going to run a particularly fast time, but I intend to enjoy every minute of it

Re: Divi Runs the London Marathon

Go Divi!

I wish you every success in your plodding