Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Sabotage!

Sabotage!

Ok, I can't get my head round the concept (probably not a bad thing, since I'm really new to this dancing malarkey) But HOW do you sabotage, without leading? Is sabotaging and back leading the same thing?

It hadn't crossed my mind, until I dance with this guy last night, who was just....damn well cheeky! I had to follow and think "If I were a better dancer, you'd be so going down!"

So what IS this sabotaging thing I keep hearing so much about? When do I get to learn this??

Re: Sabotage!

Quote Originally Posted by Mythical View Post
    Ok, I can't get my head round the concept (probably not a bad thing, since I'm really new to this dancing malarkey) But HOW do you sabotage, without leading? Is sabotaging and back leading the same thing?

It hadn't crossed my mind, until I dance with this guy last night, who was just....damn well cheeky! I had to follow and think "If I were a better dancer, you'd be so going down!"

So what IS this sabotaging thing I keep hearing so much about? When do I get to learn this??
    Depends - sabotage and hijacking are used interchangably to mean two different things.

One is where the follow actually takes over leading and the leader switches to become the follow so for example the lady would now be leading first moves etc.

The other is where the follow goes "Nup, not doing that " and either just blocks the move or does something else entirely.

Which do you mean?

Quote Originally Posted by Ghost View Post
    Depends - sabotage and hijacking are used interchangably to mean two different things.

One is where the follow actually takes over leading and the leader switches to become the follow so for example the lady would now be leading first moves etc.

The other is where the follow goes "Nup, not doing that " and either just blocks the move or does something else entirely.

Which do you mean?
    The second one...but with style!

The second one...but with style!