PDA

View Full Version : To successfully compete takes .....

Gus
11th-October-2006, 08:39 AM
OK ... back to the old ODA ways ....... :wink:

Had a mad 20 minutes over the weekend when I thought seriously about getting back into competing ..... so, being a sad analyst I am I decided to look at what the criteria is to win and how best to achieve it. (PS .. much of this is based on review of dance competition vid and chats with some judges/dance coaches)

REQUIREMENTS (not weighted)

Ability to dance in time to music (some of the time)
Look good (whatever that really means)
Ability to throw partner into BIG MOVES on a regular basis
Ability to make sure judges are watching the BIG MOVES

...... urrr, thats about it

HOW TO ACHIEVE THAT

Female partner needs to have a 'proper' dance background
Need to dance about 4 times a week
Need to practice at least 5 hours a week with partner
Need to develop/acquire/plagiarise seriously flash moves

Think the key thing that struck me was just how much time and effort you need to commit if you're serious about making it :( OK ... the above list isn't as comprehensive as i could be but I seriously think it covers the key elements. Any views?

PS Note that the male dancer doesn't have to start off as being a star themselves. There are a number of really good competing males who were fairly average when they started getting serious about competing.

Patrick
11th-October-2006, 09:54 AM
OK ... back to the old ODA ways ....... :wink:

Had a mad 20 minutes over the weekend when I thought seriously about getting back into competing ..... so, being a sad analyst I am I decided to look at what the criteria is to win and how best to achieve it. (Think the key thing that struck me was just how much time and effort you need to commit if you're serious about making it .

You have overlooked the key requirement... Actually having a partner!