PDA

View Full Version : Are West Coast Swing advocates the most annoying people in dance?

Get a grip
31st-August-2006, 01:20 PM
Are West Coast Swing advocates the most annoying people in dance?

Being relatively new to 'modern' partner dance and the whole forum concept I thought it important to give an overview of how new members perceive the scene (I thought this would also be the best way of making lots of new friends...)

My background is in Ballroom and Latin, so believe me I know about pompous, self serving, egotistical twats. However, given the level of talent that is required to compete at a high level and the level of commitment required from beginners, it's not difficult to understand why ballroom dancers consider themselves to be above the rest of us. It is, after all 'proper dancing'...

Being then introduced into the UK modern dance scene I can't believe the level of pomposity displayed by people of so little talent. You have the whole swing/lindy thing V's Ceroc and modern jive where the swingers consider themselves to be the cats flaps and who seem hell bent on railing against Ceroc and what it stands for - and then on the other hand you have the Cerocers themselves who mostly just seem to want to dance and are amazed that they can do it (well almost... what is that walking 'limp' thing they do all about and the kangaroo arms??)

It's all very odd... I don't pretend to know all the in's and out's of the history, but isn't Ceroc the main reason why most people got into dance in the first place? Nigel, Victor etc. etc? My understanding is that Ceroc started the trend for modern partner dancing, trained loads of teachers up who then promptly stuck two fingers up at the whole shebang and went to do their own thing. Now, that's fine, such is human nature - but don't then whinge about it and don't forget that you wouldn't have a livelihood if James Croney didn't have the guts and the foresight to set it all up in the first place - Get A Grip....