PDA

View Full Version : Which dances are snooty (2)

David Bailey
15th-August-2006, 07:52 PM
OK, this time hopefully with a poll...

Lynn
15th-August-2006, 08:37 PM
Do you mean snooty as in 'don't mix, don't ask strangers to dance' or 'don't like to dance with beginners, give off negative 'vibes' to less experienced dancers'?

Some examples from my very limited experiences to illustrate my question.

I've been to an AT venue where hardly anyone spoke to me and few asked me to dance as I was a stranger. But when I have been asked, I've encountered patience with my lack of experience, gentle leads, smiles and warm vibes.

Lindy - I've been to an event where the beginners and experienced dancers simply didn't mix. I was asked for a dance (I think because I was wearing the right shoes and had been demoing with the local teacher) and there was such a clear shift of loss of interest in dancing with me when the guy discovered I was a beginner that I was rather taken aback.

Salsa - I've been to venues where if I wasn't with friends no-one, at all, would have spoken or asked me to dance. And encoutered an intolerant attitude to beginners - unless said beginner is a young pretty female of course.

David Bailey
15th-August-2006, 08:47 PM
Do you mean snooty as in 'don't mix, don't ask strangers to dance' or 'don't like to dance with beginners, give off negative 'vibes' to less experienced dancers'?
Yes.

No.

Err... I dunno. It's just a poll, OK? The pressure... :rolleyes:

Lynn
15th-August-2006, 08:53 PM
Yes.

No.

Err... I dunno. It's just a poll, OK? The pressure... :rolleyes: Its these words you keep using - 'cool', 'snooty'. :rolleyes: Definitions, I need definitions!

OK - you mean superior, stand-offish, exclusive then.

So, do you mean towards beginners, or more experienced dancers? :whistle:

Sorry, I'm clearly thinking way too much about this. I'll shut up and go and click on some buttons.

David Bailey
15th-August-2006, 08:56 PM
{ stuff }