PDA

View Full Version : Beginning Tango in London

Lou
31st-July-2006, 11:28 AM
I just did a quick google for beginners Tango in North or Central London, but it resulted in so much choice & information overload! :eek:

And as I know there's a few enthusiasts here, who are somewhat further up the path to Tango Enlightenment, I was wondering if anyone had any personal recommendations for a place/teacher/organisation suitable for a complete beginner - or, indeed, of any experiences of places to avoid!

Any help gratefully received! (Will pay in rep :wink: )

Clive Long
31st-July-2006, 11:43 AM
I just did a quick google for beginners Tango in North or Central London, but it resulted in so much choice & information overload! :eek:

And as I know there's a few enthusiasts here, who are somewhat further up the path to Tango Enlightenment, I was wondering if anyone had any personal recommendations for a place/teacher/organisation suitable for a complete beginner - or, indeed, of any experiences of places to avoid!

Any help gratefully received! (Will pay in rep :wink: )
CeeCee will give a comprehensive answer - she has been to every Tango class in London

My favourites.

Tuesday nights - Hamza, Dome, Tufnell Park. Treacherous floor. Charming supportive, skilled teacher.

Monday nights - KG, Dome, Tufnell Park. Informal but illuminating. Can be erratic - has been known to precipitate falling out between dancers. :devil:

TangoInAction - Covent Garden. Stefano and Alexandra. Beautiful.

Some people are Federico and Leonardo fans. Others are not.

The Crypt, Farringdon.

If you want to go with a few people PM me and we might rustle up
something.

Clive

Dizzy
31st-July-2006, 11:48 AM
Maybe this could help:

Learning Tango Thread (http://www.cerocscotland.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7420&highlight=learning+tango)

CeeCee gives a very detailed analysis of all the Tango nights :flower: :worthy:

LMC
31st-July-2006, 11:50 AM
OMG, she's channelling MartinHarper :eek: