PDA

View Full Version : Teaching without Insurance

Gus
6th-July-2006, 07:28 PM
Was wondering. Is it an offence to teach dance, especially workshops, without public liability insurance? Was wondering about this after hearing about what has been taught on a workshop, which I thought was bordering on the dangerous. All Ceroc and Blitz (and similar profesional instructors) have PLI cover, but I don't know that any of the independants in our region do have cover.

I know its VERY expensive, it cost me about £650 for a year when I was teaching my own workshops, thats why I teach under the umbrella of Blitz :wink: However, its seems little unfair that the Big Boys carry insurance whereas (most) of the independants don't ... or am I just being a sad cynical old git as usual :whistle:

littlewiggle
6th-July-2006, 08:01 PM
I am actually an Insurance Broker and Public Liability insurance (unlike Employers Liability) is not compulsory. It would be foolish to operate workshops without it as the organisers would leave themselves wide open to potential lawsuits. The venues themselves would have public liability cover built into their buildings and contents insurance but this is for their own benefit - e.g. someone slipping on a wet floor, etc. Hope this helps!

LW x

philsmove
6th-July-2006, 08:07 PM
As a punter I am not too worried about insurance, I suspect very few people bother to read what they are and are not covered for in any case

Yes I know people have been killed doing aerials, but the most dangerous thing you do is driving to the event

The average person stands a 1:200 chance of being killed in road accident

I go dancing to forget my worries, not to worry about if the organiser is insured

Sorry Gus but I do think you are being a sad cynical old git as usual

Have a warm fuzzy

PS £650 does not, seem to me to, be a lot for public liability insurance

Gus
6th-July-2006, 08:32 PM