PDA

View Full Version : Ladies .... how would you follow this lead?

Magic Hans
27th-June-2006, 09:52 PM
Ok ... wordy description of moves are fraught with all sorts of misinterpretations, but ... errrrr here goes. [and this one's fairly simple!!]

From the lady's (follow's) perspective.

Started close, his left to my right.
Both step back.
He gives a slight pull toward himself (as for a travelling return), but
... takes my hand high and to my right.

What do I do?
a) a full 360 turn, only offset to his left (my right)
b) a turn on the spot, no matter where his hand is
c) walk past, under his arm and a half turn to my ... errrrr ... left (to face).
d) something else.

Ok, you (or at least some, maybe one(?)) are wondering why he's asking this.

I've been doing this move for a few months now, with some success. I think that I picked it up from samba a few years ago (half turn under, half turn back, half turn under, half turn back again). It really is not a complicated move, however, many of my partners go into return mode as soon as I lift their right hand (with my left).

I end up really exaggerating the distance between left hand and body, almost standing on tip toe, and stretching as far and high as I can to my left, whilst keeping my body in toward me (making the 'gate' as big and obvious as possible). One partner remarked, with a chuckle, that it was as if I were doing some manner of one winged birdlike take-off maneouvre.

[Maybe I'll sqwawk, Lenny Henry style next time for added effect!]

Despite my efforts to make my lead as loud as I can, what do I get? A return [hmmph!] slighty offset, but a return none-the-less.

Anything else I can do?? [Short of squawking that is!!!]

!an

Piglet
27th-June-2006, 11:34 PM
Would you not be better leading it like a left-handed catapult in order to get your follow to begin the half turn?