PDA

View Full Version : Serial queries!

Ickle Chick'n
23rd-May-2006, 05:06 PM
Hey hey, I know I'm the tech person at work but I'm not very technical so any info here would be great...!

I wanna move QuarkXpress4 off a G4 onto a G5 so I can upgrade it to Quark6 and use it on the G5. My problem...I have a disk for Quark4 but it is from another computer on the network, the disk for the version on the G4 I was moving it off has vanished! so...

If I upload the version from the disk I have will it be ok for the upgrade or will it cause conflicts, before upgrading, with the other computer on the network using the same version?

I also wondered if the serial number is tied to the disk or if it just looks for a relevant on ie. could I put the Qurak4 off the disk I have onto the G5 and then enter the serial number that went with the missing disk for the Quark4 on the computer I was taking it off...Does that make sense?

Any ideas would be cool, very confuddled ickle chick'n.

ducasi
23rd-May-2006, 05:14 PM
Hmm...

Could you use Apple's migration tool to copy all the applications from the G4 to the G5?

Anyway, if you've got the serial number for your Quark, and a disk from elsewhere, that's all you need (assuming it's the exact same version.) The serial number is not tied to the disk.

Hope this helps! :nice:

azande
24th-May-2006, 08:54 AM
Doesn't Xpress 4 have a hardware lock as well or is it just the Passport version? Also AFAIR version 4 has a floppy :eek: as first install disk...

As long as the two don't run at the same time on the network you should be ok.

Ickle Chick'n
24th-May-2006, 10:22 AM