PDA

View Full Version : Should teachers demo the routine before a class?

DavidY
18th-February-2006, 04:17 PM
When I started MJ a few years ago, in the Ceroc venues I went to, my memory is that the teachers would always demonstrate the routine before the start of the class.

Nowadays I notice that some teachers don't demonstrate the routine at the start any more. I remember hearing the logic that absolute beginners could be put off by seeing the routine at the start, but I notice that some teachers don't "demo" the intermediate routines either.

I find it particularly frustrating on weekenders when there's a workshop and I really want to see what coming at the start so I can decide if I want to stay or do another class (or have lunch, or sleep etc.). Obviously it isn't quite the same when the class isn't about moves (eg. a "lead and follow" class), but it's still good to know what to expect at the start (and sometimes it's not obvious from the title).

So should teachers demo the moves at the start?

Piglet
18th-February-2006, 04:22 PM
I like to see the moves at the beginning of the class and our teachers here in Aberdeen always always ALWAYS demo before they teach the moves.

It helped me to decide whether I wanted to try leading in a beginner's class cos that was really scary at first. And I know of one lady who likes to know how many spins will be in the lesson because she doesn't like to be spun too much especially by guys who haven't got the technique quite right to help the lady.

For me the bonus - especially of watching the Intermediate routine (although I'd say the same was true with the beginners' routine way back a good 18 months + back) is that I sometimes think - bloomin' heck that routine goes on forever and she's never going to get us doing that. And I'm always delighted at the end that I've achieved it.

So for me - keep the demo at the beginning!
And thanks to Lorna and Lisa who both do that - I definitely appreciate it. :hug:

onkar