PDA

View Full Version : Am Dram

Magic Hans
26th-January-2006, 07:17 PM
Anyone have done, currently do or fancy doing Am Dram on here?

[Those not familiar with the abbreviation for Amateur Dramatics, please choose 'Never been interested'!!!!]

We're putting on "HONK!" on Valentine's week funnily enough [co-incidence I think], a recent (1997) musical of the Ugly Duckling story. It's very funny.

Please feel free to share your Am Dram experiences! Both on stage and back stage.

Break-a-leg .... Ian

Jazz_Shoes (Ash)
26th-January-2006, 11:13 PM
Ok guess i'm alright to post on this thread :rolleyes: I'm studying acting and performance at college now, i'll tell you about my amateur stuff so far.

I first started acting classes when I was 8, but I didn't do any performing until I was 12 I think. Whilst at my local youth theatre a student from the RSAMD came along and took our group (one of three) to act in a 'film' for him. I can't remember all of the details, it was a while ago but i'll try! It was scripted from the book 'Junk' writen by Melvin Burgess about two teenagers living with heroin addiction. Because of my age I was cast as Lily, who was already addicted to heroine and in a relationship with Rob (I think) So anyway, my first part was a heroine addict, it was fun to film, I will always remember the first thing we shot, it was the very first scene where Rob is writing a letter, it took about 2 hours to film this tiny little scene! We filmed it in the theatre group and some rehearsal room in the RSAMD. My most vivid memory is of a scene where Lily has just got some heroine and runs in jumps on the chair and yells "Free money!" flour flying everywhere. I didn't watch it when it got viewed, I rushed out as soon as I came on, so i've never actually seen it, i've always wondered if I asked them nicely if they'd look for me to find it, but I doubt it.