PDA

View Full Version : Tango Holidays

JonD
27th-October-2005, 06:12 PM
I got a PM asking me to summarise my experience of Tango holidays for those of you who are getting addicted. I'm no expert, either on the dance or the opportunities to learn it, and I'm sure there are forumites who with more ability and experience of AT than me. However, I am lucky enough to have danced AT in Buenos Aires, the south of France, Barcelona and Nijmegen during the past year or so - oh and in Devon as well. So, here goes.

Tango Mango in Devon. Ruth Zimmerman, who runs Tango Oblivion (http://www.tangoindevon.co.uk) here in Devon developed the concept of the "Tango Mango" - see website for details. It's essentially six days where you can drop into a hall (currenly a primary school between Totnes & Paignton with a great floor) and dance Tango between 10am and 11.30pm each day. There are loads of teachers - I think there were 6 there last night - and dancers seem to come from all over the world. Each evening there is a "drop-in large group lesson" and a "bookable small group lesson" plus you can have private lessons. Totnes is a wonderfully "alternative" community and everyone is really friendly. Food appears each lunchtime and evening despite there apparently being no organisation. People just bring things and some cook - there's no obligation to contribute and no charge to consume - but, magically there are always enough good things to eat. If you ask you are almost guaranteed to find someone to put you up for the week or a few nights - even if it's just a space to put up your camp bed. If you want to immerse yourself in AT for 6 days without breaking the bank this is a good way to do it.