PDA

View Full Version : A poll for accountants only .....

Clive Long
24th-August-2005, 02:08 PM
There is a reason for this poll but it's far too dull to explain.

As an accountant would you say your responsibilities lie mainly in:

o 1. Ensuring that correct accounting procedures are used and regulatory reporting is accurate
o 2. Trying to promote revenue and minimize cost i.e. improve profit.

And none of this BOTH! nonsense. Or "it depends on fiscal rectitude". Make a decision man (or woman)!

Also please no lectures on my abuse of correct accounting terminology - I think you know what I'm driving at (that'll put you down as a strong 1)

And a quiz too!

Was Arthur Putey the applicant for the grant in the Silly Walks (http://www.realm-of-shade.com/zarathustra/silwalk.html) sketch?

Clive

drathzel
24th-August-2005, 02:12 PM
i chose A as altho i am only an accounts manager i dont have anything to do with the purchasing side of things and altho we exchange info its not up to me to say how much we can spend on a roof (we are roofing contractors)! Thats what we have an estimating and purchasing department for! I just tell them how much they have spent!

LMC
24th-August-2005, 02:20 PM
Was Arthur Putey the applicant for the grant in the Silly Walks (http://www.realm-of-shade.com/zarathustra/silwalk.html) sketch?
Dunno, but he was asked whether he was a man or a mouse in the marriage guidance counsellor sketch < /anorak mode >

Re: the poll - Unlike Icey, I'm not qualified < /gratuitous bigging up of clever friends mode >. But I've done accounts work and I would say "both", just to be really annoying, since neglecting EITHER would lose you your job.
However, since the first could also put you in prison I guess it's less important, because at least that way you know where your next meal is coming from. Hang on a sec....

(I've voted for Option 1 as well)

Gus
24th-August-2005, 03:19 PM