PDA

View Full Version : Taxi Dancers

TiggsTours
8th-August-2005, 01:15 PM
Hi,

I've been taxiing for a few years now, and wondered what people thought of the whole concept.

Personally, I love the idea of taxi dancers, I think that we do a fantastic job, but it frustrates me that there is alot of irregularities. For example:

There is no set guidelines of EXACTLY what is expected from a taxi dancer:

a. We're expected to be there for the beginner's class, yes.
b. We're expected to dance with beginner's until a set time in the class, yes.
c. We're expected to run a review class during the intermediate class, yes.

However, some venues also run improvers classes, but there is no guideline as to how this takes place.
Taxi dancers do not go through any intial training for their role.
We are not given any guidelines as to what to do if we are asked to teach privately, which happens from time to time.
Also, some taxi dancers, like me, are lucky enough to work for venues that give free or discounted entry to a large number of venues, some don't. We all work just as hard, and this seems unfair. I'm a firm believer that all taxi dancers should get free entry to all venues, and not because that means I would, just because it would be fair.
On that note, it is only taxi dancers for Ceroc London who are asked to staff the Ceroc Champs. As this is the UK Championships, surely taxi dancers from all venues should be given the same opportunities?

I'd be really interested to know what other peoples thoughts are on this.

killingtime
8th-August-2005, 01:37 PM
I've been taxiing for a few years now, and wondered what people thought of the whole concept.