PDA

View Full Version : That ole devil called Pain again

JoC
1st-July-2005, 07:01 PM
I know this crops up fairly regularly but thought I'd like to mention it again.

Had fantastic evenings dancing recently. One dance though, actually felt like my back could have potentially been quite strained during a double handed double spin (don't know name but both my hands are above my head and I'm being twirled round). Partner was a known 'yanker'.

Think the problem was either I was too far away or the lead was making an exaggerated circular motion with our hands above my head. Either way, I felt I was being pulled very off balance but rather helpless and my back muscles essentially took the strain to stop me from tipping over.

I'll do my best in future to make sure I'm not too far away but am really thinking I'm going to ask this partner to be more gentle (heck I've been dancing for 8 months now so I'm getting quite brave!). Is this reasonable? Trouble is I don't know how it'll sound coming from an upstart like me, being said to someone who's obviously been dancing longer than me...

There are always plenty of reminders during the classes about protecting shoulders and being gentle but they don't seem to be getting through to everyone...

Someone please condone what I am about to do!!!

David Bailey
1st-July-2005, 09:45 PM
Partner was a known 'yanker'.
I'll do my best in future to make sure I'm not too far away but am really thinking I'm going to ask this partner to be more gentle (heck I've been dancing for 8 months now so I'm getting quite brave!). Is this reasonable?
It's essential - I know, awkward, but he may even appreciate some advice.

Trouble is I don't know how it'll sound coming from an upstart like me, being said to someone who's obviously been dancing longer than me...
Yeah, but clearly not doing it well... Failing that, maybe a taxi dancer could help break the news to him?

Condone, Condone! You only have one back, you can always find another partner.