PDA

View Full Version : The role of the Taxi dancer

stewart38
29th-April-2005, 11:22 AM
I mentioned on another thread about a taxi dancer in London who threw a total beginner all over the place. I took her there, it was her first time. She didn’t like that and hasn’t come back despite reassurances it was not 'normal behaviour for a 'Taxi dancer'

Seems now you can be a Taxi dancer in less then 6 months after starting ceroc/jive.

Most do a great job but are there a few rogue ones sliping through, more intent on showing of with 'beginners' or being sleazy. Looks like this happen up North as well ?

People who run clubs how do you choose a Taxi dancer ? Many years ago it seemed it was hard to get Taxi dancers, some clubs now have rotation of many.

I was at an evening recently:-

I asked a beginner lady to dance, I had danced with her several times in the past.

This time she said she was feeling quite unwell as her previous dance she had felt very unsafe as the man had put her into a lot of drops, and did many complex moves.

She told me she felt very embarrased, but did not want to walk away as people were already laughing, cheering and clapping at her predicament.

I reassured her that it was him at fault , not her.

I was understandably especially gentle with the lady throughout our dance.

At the end while we were still on the floor, a taxi dancer came up, and said to the beginner - let me show you what YOU were doing wrong - with the previous track.

I was then asked by the taxi dancer, to help demonstrate the correct way to do drops, which I felt quite uncomfortable doing.

Goodness knows what impression the beginner got.

Should I have reported the man ?

johnthehappyguy :nice:

El Salsero Gringo
29th-April-2005, 12:00 PM