PDA

View Full Version : Learning Salsa after doing Jive

stewart38
28th-April-2005, 10:45 AM
After 10yrs of doing Jive I finally decide to give this Salsa thing ago.

I was told by teacher to leave jive/ceroc at the door

Ok at start not a problem foot work ok all new but as weeks went on , I seem to switch into jive mode on turns etc

Is it too late to teach an old dog new tricks, i have no intention of giving up salsa

Maybe it would have been easier to have learned Salsa then do Jive ?

What have other people found when doing one type of dance for years then trying another . (yrs ago I could slip from line dancing to barn dancing to Jive no problem :sick: )

MartinHarper
28th-April-2005, 11:07 AM
What have other people found when doing one type of dance for years then trying another?

I've been doing Lindy for a few months now, and I still find myself having occasional "jive moments". I just laugh it off now, keep dancing and get myself back into Lindy. No big deal. I don't have your ten years of MJ experience, though.
This mostly causes me problems when doing Lindy with folks who (I know) also know jive.

David Bailey
28th-April-2005, 11:24 AM
Weeelllll, I think that's a bit simplistic, and I'd hope the teacher wasn't being patronising...
Jive moves, turns, dance discipline, leading / following techniques, and even the experience of learning, can all be very useful. I did a horrendously complex salsa class last night, the only things that helped me through were when I recognised a jive move, so I could concentrate on the new stuff.

However, having said that, as a beginner, this is probably good advice to "clear your head".

The classic problems of moving from jive to salsa are:
1. Timing