PDA

View Full Version : Ballroom... first impressions.. yikes !!!!!

Wendy
15th-April-2005, 05:18 PM
Just phoned a number in my local paper advertising ballroom for beginners.. as I think this could only be good for my dancing ....

Jeez !!!!

I explained I was a Taxi dancer at CEROC (and so couldn't go on a Tuesday) and he tutted that "all sorts teach these days" and "I hope you won't be teaching what you learn in our classes".. "we are a member of some guild or other and would be chucked out if we didn't do things properly" bla de bla..... and "ceroc is fine but not for weddings"...Getting a bit fed up, I assured him I had been to weddings where I COULD dance CEROC to every track... :mad:

He lectured on about Latin not being ballroom and categories and stuff that was of no interest as I'm a total beginner and couldn't really care if the cha cha cha is ballroom or latin :sick:

Basically he was a snooty snobby up his own wotsit so-and-so and if he is the teacher I doubt if I'll even go. He sounded like a judgemental prat and pretty much put me off the idea altogether.

I wonder if he is a one-off or is the world of ballroom so stuck up and pompous ????

Having experienced how friendly Cerocland is I was really taken aback !!! So hugs to all CEROC teachers and taxis who make it a welcoming, supportive and friendly place to learn to dance !!!

:flower: :hug: :kiss: :clap: :hug: :kiss: :flower:

Wxxx

MartinHarper
15th-April-2005, 05:28 PM
Having experienced how friendly Cerocland is...

Because cerocers NEVER look down on other dance styles!
Especially popular ones like line dancing and nightclub dancing!
*grin*

David Bailey
15th-April-2005, 05:30 PM
I wonder if he is a one-off or is the world of ballroom so stuck up and pompous ????

No, it's not - there are some lovely ballroom teachers out there. And of course, there are some awful MJ teachers and dancers.