PDA

View Full Version : Two quickies

Paul
21st-January-2005, 10:53 AM
Hi all, Paul here, been to about 6 classes so far and loving it :nice: . Tried a move before Christmas called (I think) 'basket variation' which was followed by a yoyo. Have since done straightforward 'basket' which seems to start with both hands and end with LH. Can't for the life of me remember the 'basket variation' or how it can leave me ready for a RH move. Any ideas?

Also, tried the intermediate class for first time this week, felt like a complete beginner again :blush: , but enjoyed one move in particular was like 'first move' but inolved three spins plus travelling in one direction and three back again, would love to know its proper name ... have currently nicknamed it 'first move three turns' ... hope my future dance routines are more creative :wink: Paul

Clive Long
21st-January-2005, 11:03 AM
<< cut >>

Also, tried the intermediate class for first time this week, felt like a complete beginner again :blush: , but enjoyed one move in particular was like 'first move' but inolved three spins plus travelling in one direction and three back again, would love to know its proper name ... have currently nicknamed it 'first move three turns' ... hope my future dance routines are more creative :wink: Paul

Paul,

1. I feel like a beginner in most intermediate classes - and I've been cerocing/jiving for years and years and years .... It's an age / memory retention thing I say.

2. I don't think there is a "proper" name for the move you describe - but that's not important. AFAIK, there are the basic moves - which is derogatory - I prefer calling them "foundation" moves. As long as you develop a clear lead for the laydeez (see many other threads on lead / follow debate) you can vary / adapt as you like - i.e. you are really dancing.