PDA

View Full Version : Male/Female moves/styles/venues?

bigdjiver
25th-November-2004, 11:22 AM
I have been dancing for many years at a venue that has worked its way up from small numbers. I have a very exuberant"style". I would say it is very masculine, lots of lifts and dips. I would say that most ladies prefer something gentler, but I have the build for the "strength" moves, and made the decision to cater most for the ladies that like those.

I have seen a lot of guys imitating moves that I do. The M/F ratio is close to even. I wondered if the facts were related, if the frequency of "Male" moves had created a "Male" venue. Are there Male/Female moves/styles/venues?

Andy McGregor
25th-November-2004, 01:58 PM
This has reminded me of something I've observed in my travels. I go to a lot of venues and each venue has a different personality. Sometimes it reflects the teacher, other times the dancers and sometimes the venue - and on rare occasions the DJ.

The most obvious one is Hipsters. It's now all about the dancers. But I don't think it started off that way. I think a venue goes through various evolutionary phases. I think Hipsters went through this process in a sort of hot-house, forced way but I think it still evolved.

The worrying thing is that a highly evolved venue can be quite off-putting to beginners. All the dancers would seem to the of the I-could-never-be-that-good type and the music would be too difficult for beginners. If every venue got to that stage we'd end up like ballroom with a mostly ageing/dying population :tears:

Gus
25th-November-2004, 02:12 PM