PDA

View Full Version : Getting the best out of BFG.

johnthehappyguy
22nd-August-2004, 12:39 AM
Tried searching for a similar post but unable to find it, any help welcome.

I have been dancing Ceroc :clap: for about 6 months, and am usually 3 nights each week.

Have tried different ways to try to retain the content of the lessons.

What works for me just now is:-

1: Writing down the names of the moves just after the lesson,

2: Trying to practice the new moves I like in the freestyle after the lesson,

3: When I get home, noting the important points from those moves in my dance book. ( A guide how to do them, what I liked about it, reminders of things to improve, etc. )

4: Visualing myself doing the moves, thinking with my eyes closed where my arms go etc.

4: Re-reading my dance book and trying to incorporate the moves I like into freestyle.

I am booked up for BFG and really looking forward to the workshops, but am concerned that it will all be too much for my head and I will not retain anything.

Have never attended a workshop before, but have heard from some who have, that they have been disappointed with quality of "written summary notes" - if in fact any are issued.

Perhaps some of you more experienced cerocers :worthy: could clarify if summary notes being handed out at lessons are the exception or the norm, and what quality/how useful they might be.

Similarly what other tips do you have for trying to learn from the lesson, and retain it ?

Any pointers would be really appreciated.

Thanks, John :nice:

johnthehappyguy
22nd-August-2004, 07:44 AM
My post sounds serious, whatever I learn at the workshops - I am sure I will have a lot of fun. :)

Rhythm King
23rd-August-2004, 11:13 AM
Hi John