PDA

View Full Version : Teachers as examples to other Teachers

Gus
28th-May-2004, 04:03 PM
Looking for some help, and maybe starting a valuable debate as well...

Like most dancers I would like to improve my dancing ... but more than that I’d like to improve my teaching ... and that an altogether harder challenge. There isn’t a simple class or workshop you can go to. The ability to be a teacher of teachers is also a rare commodity, both in terms of skill and experience. As an independent MJ instructor I at first felt that it would be a real reason to rejoin CTA as they do have a very good teacher training course ... BUT, unless things have changed, this is really aimed at new teachers .. not experienced teachers.

SO ... in the absence any other bright ideas I reasoned things this way ...

In business, the way the Business Gurus identify winning ‘best practice’ is to look at the best companies and assess what they are doing to be so successful. Taking this example to the MJ dance arena it would therefore seem sensible to identify the better teachers (not necessarily the superstars) and try to learn from them, other by observation or coaching sessions.

So ... (for the second time) .... who do you think is a good teacher, one who’s example you think others could learn from. They don’t have to be a ‘complete’ teacher ... maybe there are weak points in what they do ... but I’m interested in what they do well. Also, in the nicest possible way ... PLEASE don’t just propose your local instructor just because they’re nice or because you think you should.... I’m really trying to get a list of those I can learn from. Maybe a good way would be to PM me if you don’t want your honest thoughts subject to the open scrutiny of the Forum.