PDA

View Full Version : Get your ass in the grass....

Jive Brummie
10th-April-2004, 11:40 AM
..........for some gardening, that is.:what:

Right, all you green fingered types out there. Don't be shy, help me out. I'm new to all this gardening stuff and of late am sick of seeing my garden look rubbish.

It's neat and tidy but other than that, is pretty naff. Am planning on building a pond in the back some time soon but other than that i have no idea what i'm s'posed to do in the garden at this time of year....

...........help.
:sick:

Fran
10th-April-2004, 12:27 PM
if youo for natural wild life pond then provided it has the correct oxegating plants it will look after itself and you wont need pumps/filters etc. you wil get frogs, newts and other things but it not really meant for fish. Ive just built one - or dug one i should day. You can buy liners but I did it the old fashioned way with a hole the size i wanted - a layer of old carpet to protect from roots, a layer of sand then a covering with the thick black plactic sheeting for ponds. make sure that the black plastic is protected from teh sun at teh top of the pond ( where there is no water) as it will go hard.

at the moment you can be planting out seeds for flowers or buy them already started,.
Planters look good but do need a regular watering. you can buy specail water absorbant crysltals which you mix in with the compost as you plant. If there is nothing really in the garden its a great time to plan it out - the mistake I made when I bulit my house was that i didnt have the time to plan mine properly so I am not going back to do the job better. I did not have enough ever geren foilage as in the cold & wet scottish winter the garden can looka bit miserable without seasonal plants.

happy gardening ( dancing really put a hold on it for me)

Jive Brummie
10th-April-2004, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by Fran