PDA

View Full Version : Blues Workshops/Lessons

marko
15th-July-2008, 10:18 AM
Hi all,
Not sure if I have posted this in the right place but here goes anyway...

My partner and I have been dancing now for nearly 4 months and really love the blues/lating style of slower dancing. We have had a few basic tasters from the ice breakers etc at freestyles, mainly done by Marc Forster and Rachel (great teachers).

Trouble is, as soon as we are 'let loose' in the blues rooms we just feel out of our depth (or at least I do, Mandy is pretty good at following the guys OK). We are both comfortable doing the freestyle stuff in the main MJ room and can happily twirl and bop all night long.

We both want to get started properly on the slower dance styles (blues/latin) and are looking for some workshops to kick-start this but they seem in real short supply.

However, we have seen the blues weekend run by Ceroc Scotland in Dundee on Spet 4/5/6. We dont mind travelling (even the 437 miles to Dundee!) but would like to be sure we are doing the right thing.

So...
Would this be a good option to get us going?
Will we be out of our depth and waste the weekend?
Does anyone know of any other Blues workshops coming up anywhere? I have trawled the various Ceroc web sites but cant find anything. As I said, we dont mind travelling, it is part of the fun for us.

Any advice/help greatly appreciated
Thanks
Mark

Martin
15th-July-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi all,
Not sure if I have posted this in the right place but here goes anyway...

My partner and I have been dancing now for nearly 4 months and really love the blues/lating style of slower dancing. We have had a few basic tasters from the ice breakers etc at freestyles, mainly done by Marc Forster and Rachel (great teachers).