PDA

View Full Version : Stringing moves together, help!

marko
26th-May-2008, 05:49 PM
Hi All

OK SO I'm an 8 week beginner, been to a Beginner+ workshop which was great. If I write down all the moves we have been taught we are up to nearly 50. Problem is, when dancing my mind keeps going blank. What next? I just don't remember what I can do next. If I sit down I can reel off the moves dead easy. On the dance floor, I keep going blank and just resort to a first move, boring..

Is this normal? Do guys get this on the learning curve or am I just c**p?!!

Any advice on braking through this mind-blank?

Many thanks
Mark :confused:

dep
26th-May-2008, 05:56 PM
Upto and including week 8, all I could do/remember were the four moves taught that night.

Week nine, I remembered a previous beginners' move, making five to play with that night. Week ten I was upto six moves in total.
Week eleven, moved up to intermediate. Oh dear!

If you have already got to 50 moves then it sounds like you could back to the beginners' classes and relearn the 19 beginners' moves and learn to do them well and as near automatic before adding a move or two a month to your repertoire.

ducasi
26th-May-2008, 06:05 PM
First thing... 50 moves in just 8 weeks?? That's way too many to be trying to remember as a beginner. Concentrate on the basic 10 or so beginner moves.

As to what you do when your mind goes blank – well, this isn't unusual. I had this problem a lot when I was a beginner...

Easiest thing to do is have 2 or 3 filler moves – one for each of the different hand-holds you'll typically find yourself in.

So, a right-hand move... Maybe a back-pass, or a yo-yo.

Left-hand... A man-spin, or maybe a first move.

Both hands... An in-and-out or an octopus.

Work on these moves and have them always ready when you can't think of anything else.

If in doubt, you can do an in-and-out from any hand-hold.