View Full Version : Leader Tips: MJ ~> AT

CJ
15th-February-2008, 12:08 PM
please.

:blush::flower:

Gav
15th-February-2008, 12:21 PM
Easy.
Forget everything you thought you knew about leading and prepare to start again from the beginning. :na:
Seriously though, the real Tangueros out there may disagree with me, but I don't think that anything I learned in MJ helped me in AT.

Leading is from the body centre, not from the hands, arms or anywhere else.
You must always be aware of which foot your partners weight is on.
Unlike MJ, where hesitation or weak leads are bad but bearable, in AT hesitation and weak leads are disastrous.
There's almost certainly plenty more, but I'm no expert.HTH. :flower:

David Bailey
15th-February-2008, 12:44 PM
Seriously though, the real Tangueros out there may disagree with me, but I don't think that anything I learned in MJ helped me in AT.

Here's a couple of threads that may be of relevance:
http://www.cerocscotland.com/forum/land-1000-dances/11733-differences-between-mj.html
http://www.cerocscotland.com/forum/land-1000-dances/7351-mj-input-into-argentinian-tango.html

I'll re-read what I said in those, see if I still think the same way...

gebandemuishond
15th-February-2008, 01:04 PM
Easy.
Forget everything you thought you knew about leading and prepare to start again from the beginning. :na:
Leading is from the body centre, not from the hands, arms or anywhere else.
You must always be aware of which foot your partners weight is on.
Unlike MJ, where hesitation or weak leads are bad but bearable, in AT hesitation and weak leads are disastrous.
There's almost certainly plenty more, but I'm no expert.HTH. :flower: