PDA

View Full Version : Just Wondering. . . .

Itsybitsy
4th-May-2007, 01:50 PM
I'm fairly new to MJ and here too (sorry if I'm repeating myself - just filling in the background) I started in September and watched in awe at the "good" dancers at my local venue, thinking to myself "I'll never be as good as that" or "wow I wonder if I'll ever be able to do that". Well 7 months down the line, those same dancers are still there looking good, but also still doing the same moves, and as I have progressed somewhat I can see each of the moves they do. Some of them are so far up themselves that you can see their own head coming out of their mouths (sorry) and they never ask me to dance (and I won't them out of principle now) When I go round in the classes I have had comments like "I don't like this move and I'm not doing it like that!". "I'm bored!". "This is the time when I start counting up to see who I'm going to end up with in freestyle!!" (and you wonder why I wont ask!!). Well my question is this:- It seems that most people (there) end up with around a dozen moves that they can do well and that's it, new moves are learnt (after a fashion) and abandoned. Is this what happens everywhere? and if not should I start to look for somewhere else to go instead?

Itsybitsy

Cruella
4th-May-2007, 01:59 PM
Out of interest which venue in the Midlands do you dance at?

Double Trouble
4th-May-2007, 02:07 PM
Hi Itsybitsy & welcome to the forum.

I remember when I first started ceroc. I used to be mesmerized by all the fantastic dancers at my local venue...thinking I could never be that good. None of them asked me to dance, but me being me, I asked them. No one ever refused, but you could tell they were giving a charity dance to a newbie.

I occasionally go back to my local venue....just for a laugh...and look at all the ones I used to think were hot shots. They are all crap....!:rofl: