PDA

View Full Version : How much experience needed for a Weekender?

Keefy
8th-March-2007, 04:19 PM
Hi all

By way of introduction I'm very new to MJ, at the eight week beginner stage knowing most of the basic moves and just beginning to string together some freestyle.

I keep looking at the various weekenders coming up later in the year but I worry about just how lost/alone I would be with the workshops with just about everybody way ahead of me :grin: I know that many of the weekender's say "beginners welcome" but just how realistic is that? So at what stage would you lot recommend somebody is to make a weekender worthwhile?

Keith

Jamie
8th-March-2007, 04:27 PM
All joking aside, I went to my first weekend in June 2006 at southport..

It wasn't as enjoyable for me as the September 2006 Southport, simply because I didn't have as much confidence as I did in September in June, I did it all wrong, going out at 8AM going to bed at 1AM (how late is 1AM now?!?)...

I'd say leave it a few months before attemtping a weekender, sheerly because you wont get your moneys worth.

David Bailey
8th-March-2007, 04:40 PM
Hi all
Hi Keefy and welcome!

I keep looking at the various weekenders coming up later in the year but I worry about just how lost/alone I would be with the workshops with just about everybody way ahead of me :grin:
There are workshops and classes for all levels, so you shouldn't feel intimidated by that. Typically, most classes will also be marked with the appropriate level.

For example, a typical Jivetime weekender programme is here:
Page Title (http://www.jivetime.co.uk/page9.html)

A normal large-scale weekender has dozens of classes, so there'll always be plenty of choice.

I know that many of the weekender's say "beginners welcome" but just how realistic is that?
Hmmm... dunno really. I went on my first (MJ) weekender after 15 years, but that's probably a bit longer than you were thinking... :rofl: