PDA

View Full Version : i-question

Caro
1st-February-2007, 12:28 AM
ok I'm new to that itunes thing and I wonder :confused: : once files that are in 'my musique' are converted and stored in i-tunes, can I delete them from 'my musique'? (I'm kinda running out of space now so if having them in i-tunes means in fact storing them twice, it'd make my life easier to delete them...)
Is there any consequence in doing this that I should be aware of ? (for example, are you free to remove tunes from itunes whenever you want and copy them elsewhere as much as you want...?)

(I did run a search on itunes in this section of the forum but didn't find that particular question, so apologies if it's already being asked and answered).

Caro
1st-February-2007, 01:57 PM
hellooo? is there somebody here? or am I not worthy of your geekiness guys :tears: ?

or is the question not making any sense?? please pretty please somebody enlighten me :inexistant eyelash batting smiley: :flower:

ducasi
1st-February-2007, 02:14 PM
Short answer: if iTunes has copied the music to the itunes folder, you don't need it elsewhere.

Long answer involves checking to see if the preferences for iTunes asks it to copy files and whether it has been told to keep its library organised, as well as using the "consolidate library" menu option.

Oh, you can "reveal" where iTunes has a track stored on your computer by selecting it selecting the "Show in Explorer" (that's a guess, but it's called "Show in Finder" on my Mac) option in the "File" menu. You might be able to instead just hit control-R.

pmjd
1st-February-2007, 04:31 PM
To find out if iTunes is set to copy your music do the following

Edit> Preferences > Advanced tab> General tab

Look for the ticked or unticked option "Copy files to iTunes music folder when adding to library"