PDA

View Full Version : The song that requires the greatest musical interpretation ?

stewart38
16th-November-2006, 01:52 PM
Ok im no expert to this and probably couldn't recognise the subtle variations within some records re the beat/Tempo etc but me thinks

The Pink Panther theme song !! and Hey Big Spender !!! have to be top contenders :sick:

Andy McGregor
16th-November-2006, 01:58 PM
You haven't got to be great at musical interpretation to find something interesting in The Pink Panther or Big Spender. It's all there, out in the open, for anybody to hear. It requires far more musical interpretation to find something interesting in Slow by Kylie or Call on Me or even Dance the Night Away.

Dreadful Scathe
16th-November-2006, 02:16 PM
You haven't got to be great at musical interpretation to find something interesting in The Pink Panther or Big Spender. It's all there, out in the open, for anybody to hear. It requires far more musical interpretation to find something interesting in Slow by Kylie or Call on Me or even Dance the Night Away.
I agree. Theres not much subtleness about the Pink Panther Tune :) Thinking it through in my head, I imagine most people would dance to it in a very similar way :)

Blueshoes
16th-November-2006, 02:36 PM
Temptation (Dianna Krall) has multiple themes running through it. Lots of breaks and different ways to interpret the music. Superb to dance to.

Gav
16th-November-2006, 02:41 PM

Really? :really:

Now I have no musical background at all and have only just started experimenting with musicality, so forgive me if my terminology/instrument recognition is a bit off.

Listening to Mancinis Pink Panther theme, I hear:
bass
triangle?
trumpets (solo and grouped)
drums
flutes
something smooth in the background (no idea what?)

All of these instruments are rising and falling, fading in and out and doing other stuff that I have no words for.