PDA

View Full Version : Advice please thanks :)

Husky_Cat
11th-November-2006, 09:32 PM
Hi, I am new to this, and I need advice, I am considering going to a ceroc class as i love dance well , i dont dance myself but love watching it, and dream of it.

The reasons i dont go to dance classes as i am terrifed that I will get told that i cant do it or people wont accept me as a dancer.

You see, I am profoundly deaf, (fully deaf) so i cant hear the music but i feel i can dance good as my hearing peers as i do have rhythm unusually for a deaf person, i think it because i am from a totally hearing family and grew up with hearing people, and i inherited their love for music , (weird i know) , i am now with deaf people but i would love to do a dance class but would my deafness stop me? and also i am very shy and have low confidence and have no one to go with me to a dance class.

Thank you so much for your advice!!!

xxx

philsmove
11th-November-2006, 10:18 PM
.....as i am terrifed that I will get told that i cant

One thing I can promise you at -any class you will find a bunch of a great friends who don’t believe in the word - can’t

Lynn
11th-November-2006, 10:21 PM
You see, I am profoundly deaf, (fully deaf) so i cant hear the music but i feel i can dance good as my hearing peers as i do have rhythm unusually for a deaf person, i think it because i am from a totally hearing family and grew up with hearing people, and i inherited their love for music , (weird i know) , i am now with deaf people but i would love to do a dance class but would my deafness stop me? I suppose it depends on whether you can 'hear' the music in some other way - you say you love music, so how do you experience this?

I know someone who has very limited hearing (and wears ear plugs when dancing to protect his ears from damage) and I know he hears the music in a different way from me. He's fab to dance with.:D